Grief support on TikTok? You bet.

Lonna Whiting
2 min readJun 20, 2023
Like many Xennials, I live in between generations.

I remember life before technology, just as Gen Xers do, yet I also consider myself as much of a digital native as any Millennial.

But I’m tired of adopting new platforms. Facebook and Twitter have been with me most of my adult life, and Instagram is a close second in terms of its influence on content I consume every day.

So, when someone suggested I start posting stories about my mom’s Alzheimer’s journey on TikTok, well, cue the eye rolls. I didn’t have the desire or energy for yet another content platform. Maybe that ages me more than I want to admit, but I’m also not interested in filtering my life or my message to the polished standards of the most popular TikTok accounts.

Turns out, though, that person who suggested I post on TikTok was right, though. There is most certainly an audience for my story, and better yet, they’re people from everywhere—not just devoted family, friends and colleagues who’ve followed my story for years now.

I was shocked when I reached almost half a million people in one week with just one TikTok post.

It’s as though a whole door had opened for me. Hundreds of people left comments:

--

--

Lonna Whiting

Writer, foundress of nothing. Exploring loss, existence, and the female left-handed experience.